DUI with Serious Bodily Injury
DUI with Serious Bodily Injury in Florida comes with severe penalties, including up to five (5) years of incarceration in Florida State Prison and a fine of up to $5,000.00. After the arrest, the offense will be listed as “DUI WITH SERIOUS BODILY INJURY (TRAF1058)” on the arrest inquiry page of the Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Office website.
In most cases, the prosecutor is seeking a long prison sentence because of the requirements of the sentencing scoresheet. The offense of DUI with serious bodily injury is classified as a level 7 felony with 56 points.
The prosecutor will add another 40 points to the scoresheet if the victim’s injury is deemed “severe.” Those points alone require a sentence of more than four (4) years in prison unless a “downward departure” is obtained.
The term “serious bodily injury” is defined as any injury to another individual that results in the impairment of a body part or organ, disfigurement, or any substantial risk of death. Because the prosecutor’s offer is likely near the statutory maximum penalty allowed under the law, these types of cases are more likely to go to trial than a typical third-degree felony.
Attorney for DUI with Serious Bodily Injury in Tampa, FL
If you were arrested for DUI with Serious Bodily Injury, contact an attorney at the Sammis Law Firm in Tampa, FL, to learn more about what you must do today to protect yourself from this serious criminal offense.
We represent men and women charged with felony DUI throughout Hillsborough County, including Tampa and Plant City, Florida. Our main office is in downtown Tampa in Hillsborough County, FL. We also have a second office in New Port Richey in Pasco County, conveniently located across the street from the West Pasco Judicial Center.
During the free and confidential consultation, we can discuss the charges pending against you, the potential penalties that come with that offense, and the best ways to fight the charges.
Call 813-250-0500 today.
Driver’s License Revocation for a Minimum of Three Years
Besides the period of incarceration, a conviction for this felony DUI offense in Florida also causes driver’s license revocation for at least (3) three years which does not begin until after you are released from jail or prison. This three (3) year driver’s license revocation applies even if you have no prior criminal record.
Suppose you are convicted of DUI with serious bodily injury and have no prior DUI conviction. In that case, you can immediately apply for a hardship hearing after completing DUI school or the advanced driver improvement course.
If the person convicted of DUI with Serious Bodily Injury has any prior DUI convictions, then the revocation period is described below:
- Serious Bodily Injury DUI Conviction within 5 Years of any Prior DUI Conviction:
- A minimum five (5) year revocation will be imposed.
- The driver may be eligible for hardship reinstatement after at least 12 months.
- If the second conviction is outside of 5 (five) years of any prior DUI conviction, then a minimum three (3) year revocation will be imposed.
- Serious Bodily Injury DUI Conviction is Third DUI within 10 Years of any Two Prior DUIs:
- A minimum of ten (10) year revocation will be imposed.
- The driver may be eligible for hardship reinstatement after twenty-four (24) months.
- Serious Bodily Injury DUI Conviction is Third DUI within 10 Years of any One Prior DUI:
- Minimum five (5) year revocation.
- The driver may be eligible for hardship reinstatement after twelve (12) months.
- Serious Bodily Injury DUI Conviction is the Third DUI but Outside of 10 years of any Prior DUI:
- Minimum three (3) year revocation.
- Serious Bodily Injury DUI Conviction is the Fourth DUI:
- Mandatory Permanent Lifetime Revocation with no possibility of a hardship reinstatement.
Hire an Experienced DUI Attorney in Tampa
For any charge of felony DUI with serious bodily personal injury, it is essential to seek out the services of an experienced Tampa felony DUI criminal defense lawyer to assist you early in the case.
At the Sammis Law Firm, our attorneys can provide you with a free initial consultation to discuss the charges pending against you, the potential penalties, and the best defenses to fight the charges.
Call 813-250-0500 to begin your defense today.
Submit this form to request a free and confidential consultation with one of our attorneys.