DUI Manslaughter with Leaving the Scene
Florida law recently changed to make the punishments greater if a person leaves the scene of an accident after a car crash that results in the death of another person when the driver knew or should have known that the accident occurred and failed to render aid or give information.
After the passage of the Aaron Cohen Life Protection Act, the offense of DUI manslaughter after leaving the scene of a crash is a first-degree felony punishable by up to thirty (30) years in Florida State Prison and a $10,000 fine. The minimum mandatory period after a conviction is four (4) years. This four (4) year minimum mandatory penalty must be served day-for-day without the opportunity to earn any gain time.
Additionally, the court will consider the Florida Criminal Punishment Code guideline schedule with a guideline range of 10 to 12 years in prison on the low end. A conviction also comes with a mandatory lifetime driver’s license suspension.
Attorney for Hit and Run DUI Manslaughter in Florida
The experienced DUI defense attorney in Tampa, FL, at the Sammis Law Firm in Tampa, Florida, is available to answer your questions about criminal charges for DUI Manslaughter or DUI Manslaughter involving Leaving the Scene charged under § 782.071(1)(b).
Florida law provides for harsh penalties for any allegation of hit and run, but when someone is injured or dies in the crash, the harshest penalties are imposed.
Contact us to find out more about fighting this serious charge of leaving the scene of a crash in a DUI manslaughter case. During the free and confidential consultation, we can explain the charges pending against you, the potential penalties that come with that charge, and the best ways to fight the charges.
Elements of DUI Manslaughter with Leaving the Scene – § 782.071(1)(b)
Under § 782.071(1)(a), vehicular homicide requires that the defendant:
- killed a human being;
- by the operation of a motor vehicle;
- in a reckless manner;
- likely to cause death or great bodily harm to another.
Vehicular homicide can be reclassified into a first-degree felony if the driver also failed to remain at the scene and comply with Florida’s statutory information-giving and aid-giving duties as required by § 782.071(1)(b).
Submit this form to request a free and confidential consultation with one of our attorneys.