FR-44 DUI Insurance Requirement
Many individuals learn about the hidden costs of a DUI conviction after it is too late. One of the most expensive consequences of a DUI conviction in Florida, is the requirement that you obtain high-risk auto insurance called "FR-44" insurance.
The FR-44 requirement makes auto insurance much more expensive. Even more surprising, a DUI conviction can lead to higher rates on other types of insurance such as health insurance, life insurance, medical insurance and disability insurance for up to five years after the conviction.
This article explains Florida's FR-44 insurance requirement and how it might affect you if you do not avoid the DUI conviction.
The Increase in Auto Insurance Premiums after a DUI
Your Florida auto insurance premiums could increase by 200% to 300% from the amount you paid prior to your DUI arrest. Even worse, your insurance company may cancel or fail to renew your automobile insurance coverage in Florida.
If you shop for new automobile insurance after being canceled from your old insurance company, the fact that your auto insurance is canceled will cause an additional increase in insurance premiums.
For many, the increase in insurance premiums is so dramatic that maintaining automobile insurance becomes difficult or impossible. Any lapse in insurance will result in an automatic suspension of your driver's license under Florida law.
Higher Policy Limits for FR-44
On February 2, 2008, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles ("DHSMV") introduced the new financial responsibility certification required under Section 316.193, Florida Statutes. The certification is a form called a Florida FR-44 Form and is similar to the SR-22, which was required prior to February 2, 2008. One of the differences between the new FR-44 form and the old SR-22 form is that higher liability limits are now required.
After a DUI conviction in Florida, your license will be suspended by order of the court. In order to reinstate your Florida driver's license, you will be required to obtain a FR-44 Form which must be maintained for three years.
You obtain the FR-44 form from your auto insurance company. As soon as you ask for the FR-44, your auto insurance company will know that your driver's license has been suspended for a Florida DUI conviction, and your status will be changed to "high risk” causing the increased premiums.
The Florida FR-44 Form is a certificate of continuing financial responsibility showing the limits of your automobile liability insurance that must be kept on file with the Florida DHSMV for three years from the ending date of any revocation. The Florida FR-44 form also requires the insurance company to notify the DHSMV if your insurance policy is canceled, terminated, or lapses for any reason.
You must increase your auto insurance policy to comply with Florida FR-44 liability limits, which are 100/300/50. The 100/300/50 limits means that you must have bodily injury liability insurance in the amount of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per occurrence and $50,000 property damage liability coverage.
To reinstate your Florida driver’s license, you must usually pay a reinstatement fee of $150 (for a first suspension), $250 (for a second suspension), or $500 (for a third suspension).
Find Out More About Avoiding the Hidden Costs of a DUI Conviction
If you have been arrested for driving under the influence ("DUI") in Hillsborough County, Pinellas County, Polk County or Pasco County, contact an experienced Tampa DUI Attorney to discuss the true costs of a Florida DUI conviction.
Our lawyers handle driving under the influence ("DUI") cases throughout the Tampa Bay Area, including the cities of Tampa, Pinellas, St. Petersburg, Plant City, New Port Richey, Dade City, and Bartow, Florida.
Contact the Sammis Law Firm for a free consultation to discuss your Florida DUI arrest and pending DUI charges in Hillsborough County, Pasco County, Pinellas County, Polk County or the surrounding areas.
This article was last updated on Tuesday, May 15, 2018.