BUI Refusal to Submit
BUI Refusal Penalties
If you have been arrested for BUI or Boating under the Influence of alcohol or drugs, contact an attorney at the Sammis Law Firm to discuss the facts of your BUI case and ways to defend yourself against this serious criminal offense. Contact an aggressive and experienced criminal defense attorney.
If you were accused or refusing the breath, blood or urine test after a BUI arrest, then you will be ordered to pay the $500 civil penalty. Talk with an attorney about why you should contest the penalty within 30 days by filing a motion with the county court judge. If the judge finds that probable cause was lacking, the penalty can be set aside. The hearing also gives the attorney valuable information that can be used to fight the criminal case in court.
Attorney for BUI Refusal Penalties in Tampa, FL
Contact an aggressive and experienced attorney for BUI cases in and around Tampa, FL, by calling 813-250-0500 to schedule your free, confidential consultation today.
Read more in this article discussing the BUI penalties, consequences, and sanctions. Call us to find out morea about the civil penalties under Florida Statute Section 327.35215.
Call 813-250-0500 today.
Florida Statute Section 327.35215
Under Florida Statute Section 327.35215, the failure to submit to a lawfully requested breath, urine or blood test during a BUI investigation in an alleged violation of Section 327.35 can result in a civil penalty of $500. The officer will file with the clerk of the court, on a form provided by the department, a certified statement that probable cause existed to arrest the person for a violation of s. 327.35 and that the person refused to submit to a test as required by s. 327.352.
Along with the statement, the officer must also submit a sworn statement on a form provided by the department that the person has been advised of both the penalties for failure to submit to the blood, breath, or urine test and the procedure for requesting a hearing.
In these caes, the defendant shoudl requesting a hearing with the county court judge within 30 days after the arrest. The request for a hearing tolls the period for payment of the civil penalty, and, if the assessment of the civil penalty is sustained by the hearing and any subsequent judicial review, the civil penalty must be paid within 30 days after final disposition.
The clerk of the court will notify the department of the final disposition of all actions filed under this section.
If the person has not piad the civil penalty, then the person may not operate a vessel upon the waters of the state of Florida. If the person operates a boat thereafter, then a violation of this subsection is a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a $500 fine.
This article was last updated on Friday, January 26, 2018.