Tampa DUI Attorneys
After an arrest for driving under the influence ("DUI") in Tampa, Hillsborough County, FL, call our office to discuss your case. Our offices are conveniently located near the courthouse in downtown Tampa. Our normal office hours are 8:30 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. on Monday through Friday.
Local - Trusted - Experienced
Call us today to schedule a free, confidential consultation to discuss the facts of your case over the phone or in the office. We welcome your calls even after normal business hours, or on weekends or holidays. Call 813-250-0500 to talk with an attorney.
A DUI arrest can cause long-lasting and life changing consequences. Contact us today to find out what you need to do immediately to protect your privilege to drive and your good name. Find out more about the best options and defenses available in your case.
Local Attorneys Focused on DUI Defense
Focusing on DUI defense allows us to stay current on the most recent changes in the law. We take a scholarly approach to filing and litigating motions to suppress evidence and motions to dismiss the criminal charges. The pre-trial motions ask the judge to throw out certain evidence against you or even dismiss the charges completely.
Pre-trial motions are important because if the judge decides that certain evidence cannot be used at trial then the prosecutor may decide to drop the charges completely or reduce the DUI to a less serious offense such as reckless driving.
Should your case go to trial, pretrial motions are extremely valuable in eliminating certain irrelevant or prejudicial evidence that often increases the likelihood of a "not guilty" verdict.
How much does it cost to hire the attorney for a DUI?
We charge a flat rate of $4,500 for a first DUI charge involving either a refusal or a breath test reading. Recent DUI statistics show that nearly half of the breath tests in Florida involve a reading of .015 or above which comes with enhanced penalties. This fee includes everything through trial. Under our payment plan the client must pay one half down and the other half can be paid off in 45 days after we are retained.
Some attorney might quote you a lower price, but that price probably doesn't include a formal review hearing to protect your driver's license, pre-trial motions, and a jury trial.
We charge a flat fee because we often get the best results by fully preparing the case for trial. We have found that prosecutors often make the best deals right before the trial. Rarely do prosecutor make the best offer before the case is on a trial calendar.
By charging a flat fee we can fight the charges aggressively and fight for the best possible result in each case. We provide each of our clients with a written fee agreement that spells out all of the attorney fees and costs.
In addition to the attorney fees, we also require a $500 refundable payment into our trust account to cover any costs in the case. The costs in the case include:
- the $25 application fee for the 42 day permit so that you can continue driving while we fight the administrative suspension;
- costs to obtain the packet from the Florida DHSMV;
- the fee to serve the subpoenas on witnesses that must appear at the formal review hearing;
- the expense to hire a court report for the formal review hearing;
- the cost to obtain the discovery packet from the State Attorney's Office, if any; and
- the cost to obtain copies of any audio or video recordings.
At the end of the case, any money left in the trust account is refunded to the client. The cost money that we request at the beginning of the case is enough to cover all anticipated payments to third parties that arise during the case.
The attorney fees are slightly higher if the client is charged with a DUI involving an accident or property damage or if the client has prior DUI convictions. Attorney fees are also higher if the DUI is charged as a felony or if the client was arrested for other charges such as a second DUI refusal to submit to chemical testing, driving on a suspended license, possession of marijuana, or resisting arrest either with or without violence.
Stages of a DUI case
After your arrest for DUI, your criminal defense lawyer can usually waive your appearance at many, if not all of the pre-trial court dates saving you the stress and inconvenience of going to court. Stages of the DUI case include:
- the formal review hearing to fight the administrative suspension of your driver's license by the DMV which usually occurs within 45 days of your arrest;
- the arraignment;
- the disposition or status hearings (often called the pre-trial conference in Tampa or Plant City in Hillsborough County);
- evidenciary hearings on a motion to suppress evidence or dismiss the DUI charge;
- pre-trial conferences; and
- the bench trial or jury trial.
Pre-Trial Motions and Challenges to the Prosecutor's Case
For many individuals charged with drunk driving, the goal is to avoid a DUI conviction by getting the prosecutor to agree to reduce the case to reckless driving. Even once the charge is reduced to reckless driving, all of the terms of the deal can be negotiated including whether you are "adjudicated guilty" of reckless driving or whether the court will "withhold adjudication" which might allow you to seal the criminal record.
The DUI prosecutors with the State Attorney's Office in Tampa, Hillsborough, FL, may agree to reduce drunk driving charges for a wide variety of reasons including:
- Unlawful Stop - Concerns about the defense winning a motion to suppress evidence because of an unlawful stop performed by a law enforcement officer with the Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office, the Tampa Police Department, or the Florida Highway Patrol.
- Other Motions - Concerns about the defense winning a motion to exclude other evidence in the case, including evidence that you refused to take a chemical test, or evidence concerning the results of a breath, blood or urine test result.
- Problems with the Intoxilyzer 8000 - Concerns about motions to attack the accuracy or reliability of the breath test machine or the particular breath test reading obtained in your case. Your attorney can file motions to show that the Intoxilyzer 8000 used in your case was not maintained in substantial compliance with the administrative and statutory rules.
- Video Evidence - Concerns about the jury returning a "not guilty" verdict if the driver does not look drunk, impaired or intoxicated on the DUI video at the roadside or at the Hillsborough County Sheriff's Office central breath testing facility at the police station during the breath test or while the driver is read his implied consent warning after refusing to take a chemical test.
- Expert Witness - Concerns about a DUI expert witness listed by the defense that can undermine a key piece of evidence the prosecutor otherwise intends to rely on at trial such as the results of a breath, blood or urine test or performance on a field sobriety exercises.
Why You Should Fight the DUI Charges
We created this website to give you general information about different ways to fight a drunk driving case. Many people assume that if they were arrested then they will be convicted of DUI.
The statistics on DUI cases in Florida in 2012 , however, indicate that just 60% of all DUI citations resulted in a conviction for either DUI or reckless driving. Many drunk driving cases are resolved without a conviction because:
- The prosecutor decided to drop the charges;
- The prosecutor decided to reduce the charges to a less serious offense such as "reckless driving" prior to trial;
- The charges are dismissed by the court prior to trial; or
- The individual is found "not guilty" at trial.
In DUI cases (often called "DWI" in other states) the prosecutor must prove the driver was under the influence of alcohol to the extent that his blood or breath alcohol content (BAC) was over .08.
Enhanced penalties apply if the reading was .15 or over. Using the driver's BAC level is often called a "DUBAL" prosecution.
Alternatively, the prosecutor can prove that the driver's "normal faculties" were impaired due to alcohol intoxication or drug impairment. If the driver refused testing of his breath, blood or urine, then only the second option is available to the prosecution.
Avoiding the Expenses for a DUI Conviction
We created this website to provide you with general information about the possible DUI costs and fees that could result from not fighting the case aggressively. The direct costs are those imposed by the Court, including:
- Twelve (12) months of supervised probation;
- Fifty (50) hours of community service hours;
- DUI school (either Level I or Level II);
- Alcohol and substance abuse evaluation and follow up counseling;
- Fines and court costs;
- Costs of supervision, costs of investigation, and costs of prosecution;
- Vehicle impoundment or immobilization;
- Possibility of jail time or incarceration; and
- Installation of the dreaded ignition interlock device.
Even more costly are the hidden costs of a DUI conviction which can include a dramatic increase in you automobile insurance premiums (including "FR-44 insurance").
Lesser known indirect expenses can include increases in life or medical insurance, and the impact a criminal record might have on your future educational and employment opportunities.
Obtaining an attorney as early as possible after the arrest is an important step towards preserving all avenues of attack.
Indirect or Collateral Consequences of a DUI Arrest or Conviction
After a DUI arrest, certain indirect or collateral consequences occur. The consequences are particular harsh for individuals in certain professions and those who require special state or federal certification including doctors, lawyers, nurses and other health care professionals, school teachers, counselors, pilots, members of the military, and members of local, state or federal law enforcement agencies.
If you were arrested for DUI at MacDill Airforce Base in Tampa, FL, your DUI case can be prosecuted in the federal court in the Middle District of Florida, United States District Court, Tampa Division. Special considerations apply to cases prosecuted in federal court. You must act quickly in these cases to preserve all avenues of attack.
Drivers with a CDL license face draconian sanctions after an arrest and/or conviction. College students at the University of Tampa (UT) or the University of South Florida (USF) can face immediate consequences to their educational opportunities including a disciplinary hearing even if the college or university student ultimately avoids any DUI conviction. At the Sammis Law Firm we strive to protect our clients not just from the direct consequences of the DUI arrest and prosecution, but also from many of the hidden and indirect consequences.
Protecting Your Driver's License - The 10 Day Rule
After you are arrested for drunk driving in Hillsborough County, the arresting officer will take your driver's license if you either blow over the legal limit of .08 or if you allegedly "refused" to submit to a chemical test of your breath, blood or urine.
After the arrest you only have ten (10) days to demand a formal review hearing to contest the administrative suspension of your driver's license. By requesting the formal review hearing we can help you obtain a 42 day driving permit while we fight the suspension (assuming your driver's license was valid at the time of your arrest).
The Importance of the Formal Review Hearing in a DUI Case
The formal review hearing is one of the most important parts of your case. This hearing occurs at the Bureau of Administrative Reviews Office, 2814 E. Hillsborough Ave., Tampa, FL 33610. At the formal review hearing your attorney can present evidence and question witnesses about why your administrative suspension should be invalidated or taken off your record.
The formal review hearing also gives your attorney the chance to cross-examine the DUI enforcement officer that performed the stop and made the arrest, as well as the breath test machine technician and those involved with the calibration and inspection of the machine.
During the formal review hearing, your DUI lawyer can subpoena important documents and witnesses. Your attorney can explore defenses that may ultimately help you to avoid the administrative suspension. That same testimony and evidence becomes critical as you fight the criminal charges in court.
Top 10 DUI Arrest Locations for a DUI in Tampa
The DUI enforcement units with Tampa Police Department have developed certain favorite areas to look for individuals who might be under the influence of drugs or alcohol. In fact, the TPD's website list the top 10 locations for an arrest in Tampa.
Many DUI enforcement officers routinely patrol the same areas or wait for individual who are leaving area bars or other local attractions where alcohol is served. In fact, an overwhelming majority of arrests made by TPD occur after routine traffic stops in these areas within the Tampa city limits:
- Ybor City;
- SOHO - Howard Avenue just South of Kennedy Blvd;
- MacDill Avenue (Kennedy to Columbus);
- Nebraska Avenue (Waters to Fowler);
- Courtney Campbell Causeway;
- Dale Mabry (Martin Luther King to Hillsborough Avenue);
- Tampa Palms area;
- Kennedy Blvd (Dale Mabry to Westshore);
- Howard Avenue (Kennedy to I-275); and
- the Channelside District.
Choosing the Best DUI Attorney for Your Case
Choosing the best DUI lawyer for your particular case is an important decision. We created this website to give you very general information about possible ways to fight DUI cases in Tampa, FL.
Our website contains general information on DUI stories, good DUI defenses, statistics, consequences, and defenses in Florida. No substitute exists, however, for speaking directly with a criminal defense lawyer about the particular facts of your case so that you can receive advice on how to proceed. Call 813-250-0500 today for a free consultation.
Article last updated by Leslie Sammis on Friday, May 24, 2015.